Earthlink listing/selling email addresses for spam? (random)
by at 11:23 AM
I just got a spam to my Earthlink DSL email address. Which is funny because I have never, ever, ever used that address for anything but correspondence with Earthlink, and so far as I know it's never been listed anywhere on the Internet.
So, is Earthlink selling addresses to spammers (maybe as part of trying to sell their spam-prevention "service"), or did they mess up and accidentally list all registered usernames somewhere?
Requisite header information:
From: WE2902@hotmail.comI also did a quick websearch on the address, and it's not listed anywhere. So it seems likely that Earthlink actively sold my address to spammers, as if them getting $50/month from me for DSL wasn't enough. Whee.
Subject: Why wait start doing surveys now
Date: January 31, 2004 2:19:15 PM MST
To: [xxx]@earthlink.net
Reply-To: WE2902@hotmail.com
Return-Path: <WE2902@hotmail.com>
Envelope-To: [xxx]@localhost
Delivery-Date: Sat, 31 Jan 2004 11:20:32 -0700
Received: from zorkachu ([127.0.0.1] helo=localhost) by zorkachu with esmtp (Exim 3.35 #1 (Debian)) id 1AmzjM-00024r-00 for <[xxx]@localhost>; Sat, 31 Jan 2004 11:20:32 -0700
Received: from mail.earthlink.net [207.217.121.212] by localhost with POP3 (fetchmail-6.2.4) for [xxx]@localhost (single-drop); Sat, 31 Jan 2004 11:20:32 -0700 (MST)
Received: from computer ([67.168.170.2]) by vulture (EarthLink SMTP Server) with SMTP id 1aMZIo4bX3NZFl50 Sat, 31 Jan 2004 10:19:30 -0800 (PST)
Status: U
Content-Type: text/plain;charset="iso-8859-1"
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook, Build 10.0.2616
Message-Id: <200401311019.1aMZIo4bX3NZFl50@vulture>
X-Bogosity: No, tests=bogofilter, spamicity=0.945494, version=0.16.1
Comments
I get spam for a number of different users on my own domains that have never existed anywhere...and I see the same usernames on all three sites. If you username is something like "fred@earthlink.net", it might not be earthlink but a dictionary attack.
Unfortunately, this is how they got me when I switched over to Sympatico DSL five years ago. They still haven't picked off my Cable username, but it's only a matter of time.
On a related note, lately there's been a LOT of bounces to [randomname]@trikuare.cx, apparently being generated by a mail virus but maybe from an actual spammer (though the contents so far appear to be a virus/worm/whatever). I expect to be getting a huge influx of angry "QUIT SPAMMING ME" mails soon anyway. :/