So, I went to Whole Foods for lunch today, because their by-the-weight food bar isn't terrible.
I got some panko-breaded cod, and decided I'd like some lemon. They didn't have any lemon slices, though, just lemon juice at the salad bar dressing station, so I went directly to it. A person who was a few slots away got annoyed at me and said, "Sorry, but you're going the wrong way!" probably thinking that I was intending to make a circuit of the whole salad bar or something. But, whatever; I ignored her and just took the lemon juice while she glared at me. Then she grabbed some poor random Whole Foods worker and started asking about whether any of the salad dressings were gluten-free.
"What are my gluten-free options for salad dressing? Is this lemon juice gluten-free? I don't see an ingredients list on the vinegar. How can I be sure there isn't any gluten in it?"
I wanted to, but didn't, say, "Lady, do you know where gluten even comes from? It's a product of wheat flour. As in, the only thing that's even in the salad bar that has gluten at all are the croutons." I don't like assuming things about people, but I can't help but think that this is yet another example of how people hear about things being "gluten-free" and then assuming that gluten is somehow bad for you and that you need to stay gluten-free because of some nebulous Health Issues, and it's this stupid faddish trend that does nothing but make it even harder for people who actually do have a gluten intolerance to find things that are legitimately gluten-free. (Relatedly, people avoiding "glutinous rice" because of the gluten. Sorry, but no, that's a completely different thing.)
On the way back, the hair salon next door was advertising "vegan, gluten-free hair care."